What do you think?


Okay, it’s a bit of a slow news day folks.  So in lieu of posting about something I’ve read in the news about the news…I’ve decided to keep to the subject, but ask you all a question.  I would like to know where you stand on this issue.

About kendra75

Freelance journalist, researcher, history buff and full time student.

Posted on April 22, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. You see, most people, in your poll – agree with showing the pictures.

    There is no “newsworthiness” to be gained from such pictures – unless the American reader somehow needs news and information because they escaped knowledge that war often features “dismemberment.”

    The US soldiers are the ones shamed by the pictures. Not the grisly remains of the homicide bombers who wanted to blow them up; they, are the ultimate losers.

    • I agree with you…the ultimate losers here are the soldiers. I think this is a tough decision for any news organization to make. I certainly would not want to be in the position to make that call. A lot of ethics involved here. While I think that what these soldiers did was awful, it’s nothing new. For centuries on end this sort of display has always taken place. I’m torn on the issue to be honest. The context is important, and I don’t know that I would have published the images. But I also know how easy it is to be an armchair quarterback and be critical of their decision. Still, I think it’s an important discussion to have and I thank you very much for the input. You make very good points.

  2. There was far more death in WW2 and still newpapers weren’t compelled to show pictures.

    The reputation of the LA Times indicates the picture was used for political reasons – ostensibly, the BIGGEST reason not to show such inflammatory images.

    • I may agree with you, as far as the motivation behind the decision, but if you think back to the Civil War, and the scandals (by today’s standards), which involved the placement of dead corpses for photo opportunity…I think it might be fair to say that we have come a long way. At the very least, the media is showing some sense of conscience by weighing out the relevance and informative aspects of photography. No matter how gruesome some of it may be.

Speak your mind!

